Wildwood Blazes: Pantone Greenery Quilt Challenge

My “Wildwood Blazes” has been in my mind for many years.  I tried to make one a few years back, but scrapped it.  As everyone knows, I love to hike and many trails have blue blazes on trees to mark the way.  Portland has a series of trails in Forest Park with one being Wildwood Trail.  It is our go to when the mountains or coast range have miserable weather.  Nike has marked each 1/4 mile with a blue blaze and higher on the tree, a mileage marker.

In my quilt, I sewed 3″ scrappy blocks in “greenery” colors with one skinny edge being brown hoping to duplicate the feel of the forest with the browns and greens mixing.  On some trails, you can see the blue diamond blazes along several trees in a row as you look ahead, thus several blue diamonds in a strip.

“Wildwood Blazes” finishes at 31″ x 42″ and is straight line quilted in green except the blazes where I used a blue thread and my signature seer-sucker quilting.  I’m linking up with No Hats in the House and Bryan House Quilts for the 2017 Pantone Quilt Challenge.

DSC08240 Trail Marker Pantone Quilt

IMG_20170514_091514133 pantone wildwood trail

… a close up.

IMG_20170514_120841536 Quilt closeup

DSC08270 fence pantone trail

This stone shelter at Balch Creek has been tagged once again after the city got all the graffiti off.

IMG_20170514_093631037shelter

Just a few more photos Kevin took on our Mother’s Day hike last Sunday.

IMG_20170514_094346721 bow tree

DSC08273 winding trail

DSC08278 Green trail widescreen

My previous Pantone Challenges can be found here and here and here.

And a story.  The Pantone color was released just before a trip to my dad’s in PA. My dad delivers my newspaper route from when I was in middle school.  One customer is Sherwin Williams.  I asked Daniel at the desk which color would be closest and he ended up mixing up a small batch and painted a swatch for me.  There are truly wonderful people in this world.  Here is the swatch on my quilt.

5 Responses to “Wildwood Blazes: Pantone Greenery Quilt Challenge”

  1. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    Wow, AnnMarie — you captured the feel of the woods perfectly with this quilt! It’s a winner in my book!

  2. Joanne Says:

    I love this quilt. You captured it big time. The blue diamonds and the story are outstanding. Way to go Ann.

  3. quiltcharette Says:

    Great quilt. It has a meaningful story and showcases both the feel of the forest and the pantone color!

  4. Daniela of blockMquilts Says:

    What a perfect quilt for the Greenery theme! It’s almost disguised in these beautiful woods. Love those blue diamonds, the design is very well implemented into the quilt! Love it!

  5. Stacey Says:

    Gorgeous quilt and I love your photos too!

Leave a Reply

