Yosemite Valley Quilt

Westside Quilters Guild held their annual challenge on Monday.  This year, the theme was “Page 9″ since our guild is nine years old.  I used my Yosemite Backpacking guide’s page nine which discusses Yosemite Valley.  The other part of the challenge was to use a nine patch block.  I used nine of them.  Several of the lighter ones contained my wedding dress fabric.  The heart is because I love that we were married in Yosemite Valley.  All of our quilts are 36” square.

Yosemite Valley

The detail of the Half Dome logo.

Yosemite Valley Half Dome

Since our daughter was home this past weekend, our family backpacked from Timberline Lodge to the White River Canyon for a very windy and sandy night.

DSC01200 Ann Sarah Hiking

DSC01325 sunset mt hood gradiant

DSC01398 family portrait

 

6 Responses to “Yosemite Valley Quilt”

  1. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    Beautiful quilt full of meaning. So the blocks containing your wedding dress material were scraps, right? Meaning you didn’t cut up your wedding dress?!

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      I didn’t cut my dress. I had made little sachets and something for Kevin to put in his pocket from the fabric and that’s what I used.

  2. quiltcharette Says:

    I admire quilts that are full of meaning – and this one definitely is! Lovely quilt, and lovely family. 🙂

  3. Karen Says:

    I love all your quilts. There is so much meaning and detail in them. The quilting of the logo here on top of all that matchstick quilting. Wow! Plus the beautiful hikes you share. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

