Hazel the Hedgehog and Riley Blake Challenge

Finally, this is finished.  This super popular pattern can be found here.  My quilt finishes at 46″ square and is quilted with a straignt line grid.

Hedge Hog front 4 by 6
Hedge Hog Front back 4 by 6

The Modern Quilt Guild issued a challenge with free fabric by Riley Blake to create a quilted item using a method new to us.  I used the “quilt as you go” method on my longarm and wasn’t happy at all with the mess on the back.  So, I lined the bags.Purse 4 by 6

Each month this year, Portland Modern Quilt Guild comes up with a theme for mini quilts.  They are so popular.  This month, we were to use a word on the quilt.  I use words a lot on my quilts, but asked my husband to help me come up with a word.  I wanted something profound.  He said, “Just use mini“.  Here is how I interpreted what he said.Minnie square

3 Responses to “Hazel the Hedgehog and Riley Blake Challenge”

  1. susan Says:

    Nice….I have been wanting to try words….did you applique ‘Minnie’?

  2. Annie Says:

    a team you two are! i always get a giggle out of your clever play on words!

  3. Merilee Newman Says:

    Your interpretation is perfect. And I love the colors of the little bags.

Leave a Reply

