Memorial Day, 33 Years of Running, A Mini Quilt and 7,000′ Hike in May

Today marks my 33rd year of consecutive running.  Kevin did a photo shoot with HUB’s Hef Hop with the runner on the can.Fade in Running Running HubThese are my Nike Waffle Racers that I used for running some of my fastest times in the 80’s.

Running Red White and BlueKevin and I hiked up to Gnarl Ridge (7,000′) Saturday/Sunday.  We had drizzle all the way past Government Camp, and thought we may have glimpses of the mountain, but it totally cleared up turning onto Hwy 35 and we had a blue bird time! Yay!

We hit snow that made following the trail tricky.  Kevin has a great sense of direction and with the GPS, we were fine. (This is actually on the return, but it’s the same hill side.)Ann Crossing Snow field Mt. Jefferson was above the clouds.

Jefferson above cloudsI love how Kevin captures the Milky Way.

Night Sky Gnarl RidgeThis is the crossing over Newton and I detest river crossings.  Kevin actually has my pack here because it is all I can do to get myself across let alone haul my pack too.

Kevin Newton CreekMorning light on Hood and our campsite.

Morning Light Gnarl RidgePhloxPhlox Gnarl Ridge I carried this mini up to the mountain for a photo shoot.

QuiltHere it is at home.

AG Mini

5 Responses to “Memorial Day, 33 Years of Running, A Mini Quilt and 7,000′ Hike in May”

  1. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    Another great quilt in an awesomely beautiful setting!

  2. onceawingnut Says:

    Darn, dawn at firstlightdesigns beat me. I have the same reaction – another great quilt in another great photo shoot location. Congratulations on your 33 year milestone!

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      Thanks, Martha! I’m not sure I’ll have a quilt to bring with me this weekend. We’ll see.

  3. Karen Says:

    Ditto what the others have said. Also, what were your fastest times? I did not start my running adventure till my late 40’s. My goal is always to be in the top 1/3 of my age group. So far I’ve managed that.
    I’m in awe of your hikes…and quilts.

Leave a Reply

