Pantone Quilt Challenge: “Walter’s Wiggles”

I have to admit that this year’s color, marsala, is probably my least favorite of all colors.  My goal was to participate in the challenge and use fabric close to the paint swatch suggestions.  Looing at my quilt, I’m happy that I paired it with Kona’s Sky Blue.  The design straight from Terry Atkinson’s book, Graphic Mix.  It finishes at 58″ x 73″ and is quilted with my “seer sucker” quilting (three tight straight lines, space, three tight straight lines, etc.) using a dusty rose thread.

Pantone Quilt 2015 Horsethief Butte

Horsethief Butte, Columbia Hills State Park, Washington

The poka dot on the top left and the text on the bottom right are the two fabrics I purchased to match and everything else is from my stash.  I used an Anna Maria Horner fabric for the back and the binding is a Tula Pink cut on the bias.  Sorry gals, who would have known your newer lines of fabric match so perfect!!??

Pantone 2015 close

Pantone Quilt 2015 Columbia Hills State Park Washington

Columbia Hills State Park, Washington

Pantone Quilt 2015 Gorge Viewpoint

Columbia River Gorge looking east

Late last month, we headed to the Wooden Shoe Tulip Festival for a photo shoot.  There was a mass of humanity there.

Pantone quilt wooden shoe tulip festival 2015My daughter notices things matching, and spotted the wooden shoe in the exact Pantone Marsala color.  No idea who the people are in the background, but since kids were waiting to get on the shoe, we had to snap a photo quick.

Pantone 2015 Tulip Festival

Pantone Quilt 2015I’m naming the quilt, “Walter’s Wiggles” after a trail in Zion National Park on the way up to Angel’s Landing.

wigglesHere is our son, Andrew hiking it when he had just turned seven years old.  No idea where the other two kids are.

Walter's Wiggles hikeThank you Play Crafts and On the Windy Side for this challenge, all the vendors supplying prizes and each quiltmaker who accepted the challenge!

6 Responses to “Pantone Quilt Challenge: “Walter’s Wiggles””

  1. knitnkwilt Says:

    Amazing that such a ho-hum color could turn into such a nice quilt. Love the inspiration photo too.

  2. annie Says:

    It may not be your favorite color but you sure made an amazing quilt using it!

  3. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    I’m not fond of the marsala color either but I LOVE what you did with it. And what great photo ops for your quilt!!

  4. Cynthia Says:

    This is a really fun quilt design and your pictures are gorgeous!

  5. Adrianne Says:

    It’s a beautiful! I hope you enjoyed working with Marsala and getting it to work for you even though it’s not your favourite colour 🙂

  6. Anne Says:

    Wow, you did a great job with featuring Marsala! And I LOVE the quilting!! :O I’ve never heard of seersucker quilting before, but I am definitely filing that away for future use. 🙂 Such a beautiful quilt!

Leave a Reply

