Circa 1934 Quilt Finished

When my mom passed away a few years ago, a friend gave me a gift certificate to Boersma’s.  They carried a line by Moda titled, “Circa 1934” ~~ the year both my parents were born.  Meanwhile, my dad wanted a new quilt, so I used a bunch of the fabric to make this for him.

The center of my quilt has been lying around for nearly 2.5 years and I needed to finish it.  Here it is at 58″ square with “seer-suckerish” straight line quilting.
Circa 1934 for Ann

Circa 1934 for Ann whole back

Circa 1934 for Ann closeI used Sam Hunter’s paper pieced numbers and a strip of the selvage on the back.

Circa 1934 for Ann back closeI had a two pretty significant rusty oil spots from my longarm on the front.  In an attempt to remove them, some of the black backing was staining on the front, so wish me luck as I attempt to rid the quilt of the stains!  Luckily, my machine is at Boersma’s getting a tune up and “oil check”.

 

4 Responses to “Circa 1934 Quilt Finished”

  1. onceawingnut Says:

    Sweet story and congratulations on another finish. The numbers on the back are inspired and I hope you machine comes back good as new!

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      Thanks! I have a little of one of the oil spots left after two washings and no bleeding. ~~ still scrubbing with toothbrush and various “products”.

  2. annie Says:

    If you still can’t get the spots out, you might try the dry cleaner on Cornell. He has done great work on a variety of spots we have sent him.
    I love hearing all the stories behind your quilts. I’m sorry this one is about losing your mother.

  3. knitnkwilt Says:

    Love the quilt and the back. Good luck on the stain removal (I have a current challenge along those lines too.)

Leave a Reply

