30 Shades of Grey Table Runner

My niece turned 30 yesterday.  Since her room is shades of grey, my sister suggested that I make a runner for a dresser.  Getting the measurements from her sister and roommate proved to be a bit of a challenge. After hanging up from a conversation where she was heading into the house to measure, I waited quite a while.  Trying to jar her memory, I text, “Are you still looing for a ruler?”  She responded, “I had to download an app!  How sad is that?  It’s roughly 44 x 18.”

30 shades of gray angle

30 shades of gray top

30 Shades of gray

 

My process for making this was to cut 30 pieces of grey fabric at different lengths by 1.75″  I cut several strips of white WOF at 1.75″.  For each piece of grey, I cut whatever length would equal 20″ of the white and then split it unevenly.  I arranged them, added one extra 3″ x 20″ length at each side, sewed them together, then trimmed to 18″ x 43″.  I used my “go to” straight line quilting with grey thread.

4 Responses to “30 Shades of Grey Table Runner”

  1. Merilee Says:

    I love it! I can see it also hanging above a buffet in a dining room…or over a couch…above the fireplace. It’s beautiful.

  2. annie Says:

    love the colors, the arrangement, the sentiment…Lucky girl!

  3. quiltcharette Says:

    Love it! Soothing yet creative. And I love the backside fabric. And I love your straight line quilting! 🙂 Perfect for this piece.

  4. Mary Ann Says:

    So pretty! When I can’t find a ruler I use a dollar bill, it’s just a smidge over 6 inches and you can usually have one on hand!

Leave a Reply

