Purse Tutorial

I was asked to do a tutorial on my purses.Purse front

The pieces:  zipper, “O” ring, 3/4″ “D” ring, clam clip, craft weight fusible interfacing 1.25″ x 25″ for strap, 1″ X 4″ for each side of zipper tag, 2.5″ x 25″ fabric for strap.  The purse front and back are already pieced just like a quilt with front, batting and back. I offset my ptchwork towards the top because the corners on the bottom will create a bottom.1 partsFold the interfaced fabric (1″ x 4″) in half and sew to zipper.  I fold the strap in half to find a seam line and sew along that line the entire 25″.

2 Parts SewnTurn strap inside out and top stitch both sides.  I fold it and sew it closed around the “O” ring.  Cut a 4″ section for the strap part that is attached to the purse, adding the “D” ring.

Sew the zipper onto the front and back quilted pieces, zig zag the back seam and top stitch on both sides of the zipper.3 Zipper and Handle

Close up of straps.4 Tab

When you sew the sides and bottom, leave the zipper open.  I miter the corners.  This is what the inside of my purse looks like.5 Inside

This is the back.

Purse backAnd, this, my friends, is why I am NOT a pattern writer.

 

10 Responses to “Purse Tutorial”

  1. eido345 Says:

    Where did you purchase the hardware ?

    Thx

    Randa New

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      I get all the parts at Joanns. Look by the needles for the “D” rings (they come in a pack of four) and in jewelry for the “O” rings and clam clips. I can bring some on Monday if you want.

  2. Jeri Says:

    Nicely done! Now we will be seeing them everywhere!

  3. Marsha Cochrane Says:

    Thank you so much for the purse tutorial, I really appreciate you sharing this!

  4. Marsha Cochrane Says:

    Btw what is the measurement of your front and back pieces?

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      It really depends on the zipper. I usually make them about an inch or more longer than the zipper teeth. Since I used a zipper I had, I cut it to the length I needed, so the patchwork front and back is a little larger than 6″ x 10″. Sorry that I’m not more specific, but I really do “wing it” each time.

  5. Christine Sherman Says:

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. quiltcharette Says:

    Very nice tutorial, clear photos, and I love how you did the zipper. I still struggle with them.

Leave a Reply

