Pantone Challenge in the Works

Marsala button

For the third year in a row, I’ll participate in the on-line Pantone Color of the Year Quilt Challenge.  Again, it’s sponsored by Anne and Adrianne.  Since I’m not overly-excited about the color, my initial thought is to use a pattern I already own and just be happy to participate.

Here is a post about matching paint colors, so I picked up Glidden Rusty Red R64 and Behr Pompeian Red PPU1-8. Apparently, cocoa is the closest match in Kona cottons.  I purchased these two pieces of fabric in Sacramento and they are spot on.  These are sitting on Kona sky (light blue) that I’ll use for the background.

Pantone Marsala colors

The rest of these are from my stash and not an exact match, but will work.  Hawthorn Threads has a great matching collection.

Pantone Marcella

Yesterday, we hiked in Forest Park up to the Pittock Mansion.  Mt. Hood was in it’s glory.

Portland

I’m close to finishing the quilting on my first “Flying Falcons” quilt and should have the second started before the Super Bowl kick off.  Fabric.com only shipped me one yard of the dark backing instead of two and then sent the missing yard even after I explained that it was for a back.  Luckily, there was enough of the lighter deer print to piece the two together.Flying Falcons Quilting and Back

2 Responses to “Pantone Challenge in the Works”

  1. Merilee Says:

    If I remember right…you didn’t like last years either. I can’t wait to see what these colors turn into.

  2. Marie Mouradian Says:

    Thanks for adding the link back to my blog post on Marsala. I have added some popular paint matches and the hex and rgb codes for perfect matching.
    Happy Quilting!
    I can’t wait to see what you create.

    Marie Mouradian
    WindowDesignsEtc.com

Leave a Reply

