Drats Bats: My Quiltcon Reject

At Quiltcon 2013, my sister suggested that I make a QR code quilt, but I wasn’t interested. Walking through a park in Austin, we saw a billboard with this QR code linking to the Statesman about bats and I decided that if we returned to Austin in 2015, I’d make the quilt. Michael Miller’s challenge fabric sealed the deal. Scanning this quilt will link you to the Statesman page.

My quilt measures 69″ square and I just received notice that it is not one of the quilts chosen to be in Quiltcon in Austin in February.  Drats!  The panel of judges had to choose from over 1,350 quilts.

The challenge was to use primarily Michael Miller’s spring solid collection.  We could add a Michael Miller print to the back and binding if we wanted.

2015 Quiltcon SCAN ME entire

2015 Quiltcon SCAN ME close up

The back of the quilt says, “SCAN ME”.

2015 Quiltcon SCAN ME back

This is the sign we saw in Austin.

IMG_4011

6 Responses to “Drats Bats: My Quiltcon Reject”

  1. Merilee Says:

    Well poo….WE think it’s perfect!

  2. Cathie Says:

    Drats is right! Well at least you can now show us at the guild meeting 🙂

  3. Jami Says:

    It’s their loss!

  4. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    Clever quilt, AnnMarie! I heard that only 26% of the quilts submitted to QuiltCon were accepted. Yours is a winner in my book!

  5. cauchy09 Says:

    oh, i love your quilt and not just because i have a contentious relationship with bats. i love the design and the relevance of the QR. thanks for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

