Barn Quilt and Cooper Spur Backpack

Our Westside Quilt Guild is creating a Barn Quilt Trail in Washington County and there is a council that wants to hang barn quilts in their chambers.  This gave me the push I needed to duplicate one of my dad’s barn quilts from Waynesboro PA.  I switched up the colors a bit and it measures 43″ square.  I had a terrible time with thread breakage during which the thread came out of a tension disk causing me to rip out a LOT of stitches, then switched the needle and couldn’t get it right, then had an oil spill.  I’ll be washing it pretty soon.SCS Barn Quilt

SCS Barn Quilt back

barnquilt

Anne from our PMQG told me about this quilt by Thomas Knauer titled “Love is Blind”  The man has an incredible mind.  The secret of the quilt is that the triangles actually spell out “I love you” in braille.  You can purchase the pattern at Quilty or get the magazine.  I used my left over HST’s from the Michael Miller challenge for this mini.  It measures 16″ x 42″.

Love is Blind

Despite a 50% forecast for thunderstorms in the mountains, Andrew and I headed up to Cooper Spur in the Mt. Hood Wilderness yesterday on a backpack.  It ended up being a 11.5 mile hike with 4,500′ elevation gain.

Got to love snow in August when it’s 99 degrees at our home in Hillsboro.

Andrew Walking Cooper SpurKevin and I have looked for this Japanese inscribed rock every time we go to Cooper Spur and our Eagle Eye Andrew found it for us!

Ann Japanese Rock

Andrew Close Up Cooper Spur

Andrew Tent Cooper Spur

Sunset Cooper Spur

One Response to “Barn Quilt and Cooper Spur Backpack”

  1. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    Love both of your quilts!! Snow and short sleeves — really??!!

Leave a Reply

