A “Feather” Runner with a Story

The summer of second grade, I was wearing my play tutu and remembered seeing a feather in the swimming pool area.  We were NEVER allowed to touch feathers because they harbored unimaginable germs.  I disobeyed my mother and headed to that feather only to find my baby sister upside down with her diaper out of the water in our below ground swimming pool.  I jumped in, pulled her out and the next thing I remember is my dad breathing life into her on the picnic table and then rushing her to the hospital.  I always say that I saved my sister’s life with a feather.

Barbara from both of my quilt guilds made a Feather Bed Quilt and I told her the story and commented that if she had any extra feathers, I’d love one for my sister.  Thank you Barbara for the center.   I added borders and quilted it up for my sister.  Friday is Christine’s birthday.

Feather

Feather close

Feather w back

5 Responses to “A “Feather” Runner with a Story”

  1. Merilee Says:

    Oh my….beautiful….and, I love the quilt too. What a symbol!

  2. zippyquilts Says:

    Terrific quilting–did you do that on your home machine?

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      I have a long arm quilting machine. Once in a while, I use my domestic for small things ~~ but only straight lines.

  3. Jeri Says:

    That is so cool….story and quilt!

  4. Janet Kay Murdock Says:

    Love a quilt with a good story =) THANK YOU for the surprise on my porch, you saved my bacon!!

Leave a Reply

