Little “Modern” Red Riding Hood Quilt

At our Westside Quilters Guild Brown Bag, I won a great Red Riding Hood piece of fabric.  The gal behind me commented (in a very nice way), “That wouldn’t work for a modern quilt.”  I replied that the young gals are using this type of fabric for quilt backs.  Little did she know, a challenge was issued.  I pulled solids from my bucket and got to work on something I’ve been eyeing in a Gwen Marston book.  It finishes at 29″ x 34″.  As a test, I’ll post it on the Flickr Modern Quilt site.  If it makes the cut, I’ll go with it being on the modern side and if not, well…   (NOTE:  It made it!  See here.)

Little Modern Red Riding Hood

Little Modern Red Riding Hood back

Little Modern Red Riding Hood close

Little Modern Red Riding Hood side

9 Responses to “Little “Modern” Red Riding Hood Quilt”

  1. Merilee Says:

    If you scroll up and down fast enough on the top picture it gives the illusion of the jacks moving. Love it!

  2. annie Says:

    I love that you took that innocent comment and turned it into a challenge. You certainly nailed it!

  3. Christine Says:

    Cute !!!! I think the back looks great with the Jacks on the front. You are definitely fast on taking on a challenge and finishing it 🙂

  4. Juline Says:

    And if not, you still have a wonderful quilt! I love the fussy-cut jack on the front.

  5. Jeri Says:

    Way to meet the challenge…..

  6. Merilee Says:

    The more I see it the more I like the material on the back.

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      I know I was rather excited and may have hopped a bit when I won it! It is just so darn cute!

Leave a Reply

