Two Metallic Challenge Quilts

Portland Modern Quilt Guild issued two challenges with metallic fabrics.

The first was Michael Miller’s GLITZ fabric.  24″ on any given side was the limit.  My challenge is 23.75″ x 23.75″ and titled, “Blushing Stars”.  Blush is the peachy/pink color.

Blushing Stars

Blushing Stars close

The second used Robert Kauffman quilter’s linen metallics.  My son came up with the theme and back, titled “Metallic Bonding” and it measures 39″ x 31.5″.  All of the atoms (positive circles) share valence electrons (gold).  Thankfully, Janet gave me her fabric because I didn’t have nearly enough.  Plus, I ran out of the off-white background (Fairy Frost) and had to order more online from Fat Quarter Shop.

Metallic Bonding

Metallic Bonding backI quilted it with straight lines, but every two spaces, I doubled up the quilting and am pretty happy with how this came out.

Metallic Bonding close

4 Responses to “Two Metallic Challenge Quilts”

  1. Merilee Says:

    I like the peaceful colors of the first. The second one is so different!

  2. wombatquilts Says:

    You are amazing. I LOVE your metallic quilts.

  3. Jeifner Says:

    The colors and quilting on the first are quite pretty. The second one is a stunner. Fabulous idea and execution. And the quilting just accents it so well.

  4. Kelly in Chicago Says:

    Such a nice use of metallic fabrics! Well done! I love the Glitz quilt and I’ve pinned it to my “Quilty Goodness” board on Pinterest (with proper credit, of course!). Feel free to follow me if you’d like: http://pinterest.com/lipglass/quilty-goodness/

Leave a Reply

