Quilt Guild Brown Bag Extravaganza

Yea to Sandi and her helpers!  Once a year, she coordinates a super fabulous event with a brown bag auction, ticket and take it (instant gratification) and silent auction at our Westside Quilter’s Guild.  Five tickets for a dollar and you can’t go wrong!

Brown Bags Galore
Scraps

Ticket n Take It

Magazines

I got two items from the ticket and take it, but otherwise won several brown bag items.  Woo Hoo for me!  One year I walked away with nothing at all.

Loot

As for the bug spray fabric…  Behind my dad’s house in PA, they planted soy one year and the stink bug infestation was impressive (aka massively disgusting).  My dad and brother had “stink bug traps” set up.  When five of us sisters were in NJ, we spotted a sign for a stink bug spray that we purchased for the guys.

Stink Bug Purchase

Stink Bug Men

This is part of the trap which inluded a box with hole for the plastic bowl and a light.  The light attracts the bugs, then the alcohol drowns them.  This is only from a short period of time.

Stink Bugs

8 Responses to “Quilt Guild Brown Bag Extravaganza”

  1. Christine Says:

    Looks like you got some good things this year. 🙂 Oh my gosh look at that Bug B Gone fabric .

  2. housesloth Says:

    I wanted that bug fabric, too, but it would languish in my stash. Instead, I know you’ll make it into something clever. I got some hearts made of old quilt pieces and some primo prints.

  3. Life on a Dirt Road Says:

    I want to join your guild!! Mine is itty bitty.

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      This is one of the funnest meetings of the year! Sandi does such a great job but this takes up her entire living room for months.

  4. Merilee Says:

    If you were to stack your stash of materials…how tall would it be??

  5. Mary Ann Says:

    Wow, that looks really fun! I might have to pick your brain to see how it works and maybe PMQG might want to do something similar. Fun fact: apparently I ate (tasted) a stink bug as a baby/toddler. Still better than my brother’s tasting of dog poo!

Leave a Reply

