Tears Dropped on this Quilt

My mom hand pieced this three years ago in her last weeks of life.  My youngest sister helped and tells me that Mom really wanted it to be finished for me to quilt and have. I added five more blocks and the border and it measures 80″ x 80″.  It is one of my most cherished quilts.  I used a Denyse Schmidt backing and binding with flowers as my mom had one of the greenest thumbs around.

Mom Last Yellow Pinwheel

Mom Last Yellow Pinwheel close

Mom Last Yellow close w backIt is a kit from Heartside Quilts.

 

10 Responses to “Tears Dropped on this Quilt”

  1. Janet Kay Murdock Says:

    Very pretty! What a treasure, and awesome way to remember your mom.

  2. Life on a Dirt Road Says:

    Beautiful! What a wonderful thing to treasure the memories of your mom!

  3. susan webster Says:

    These are the kinds of treasures to cherish

  4. runandsewquilts Says:

    Aw, thanks for the nice comments. I finished so many of Mom’s quilt tops and still have many more to quilt, but this one is extra special!

  5. stitchinstein Says:

    Truly lovely! What a precious memory of your Mom.

  6. Christine Says:

    It is beautiful and a wonderful treasure to remember your Mom. I can totally understand the emotion that is sewn into this extra special quilt.

  7. wombatquilts Says:

    Beautiful and so very very special. What a wonderful gift to be given to remember your mum.

  8. Merilee Says:

    It is so bright and cheery…a lovely reminder of your Mom.

  9. dawn at firstlightdesigns Says:

    A lot of love in that quilt, AnnMarie!! (And now I know where you got your sewing gene.)

  10. Nancy Kennedy Says:

    I love the colors in this quilt. What a treasure!

Leave a Reply

