Oregon State Fair, You are the BEST

Really, it may be the Mid Valley Quilters who put so much of their heart into the fair that made it super great this year!  Hopefully, our guild can help more next year.

I took three blue ribbons in the quilting division and this is what was in my box of quilts.

State Fair 2013 WIN_edited-1

Nancy from our local quilt guild wanted to make an I SPY quilt for her grandchild, so she coordinated a few swaps of conversation prints and last night was the quilt reveal.  There must have been a dozen ladies that completed quilts.  It was a great success!  Here is mine.

I SPY

I spy close

After much anguish about what to put on the back, I used this flannel that I picked up at Joann’s last November.  If you’ve ever had to find someone in a “run”, it’s like a giant I SPY in itself ~~ a nearly impossible task.  The other browns are from the quilt I finished for my friend late last year.

I SPY back

This quilt is made with fabric from Carole using the Urban Log Cabin pattern by Terry Atkinson.  It will be a raffle quilt for Tuality Healthcare Foundation who is so generous with our upcoming quilt show.  So, I pieced and quilted it and Carole hand-stitched all the binding.

Tuality Healthcare

 

4 Responses to “Oregon State Fair, You are the BEST”

  1. susan webster Says:

    Wow…I want to do an I Spy quilt….did you print the magnifying glass and “I Spy” yourself? or can I find that somewhere? Congrats on your placements at the fair and the wonderful fabrics you got!! You are so good!!

  2. Janet Kay Murdock Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!

  3. Diane Bowden Says:

    Thanks! I really want Portland Modern to be part of the Quilt Walk next year. We are asking for more area in the Americraft Bldg and have been told we can have it. Thanks for trusting your quilts to us. It means a lot. Look for more improvements in 2014.
    Diane Bowden
    co-chair Oregon State Fair Quilting committee

  4. Dawn Says:

    I love your I Spy quilt, AnnMarie, and wow! blue ribbons AND fabric from the State Fair. I would say you scored!

Leave a Reply

