String Fever Challenge Quilt Finished

Finishing at 62″ square and using an awful lot of stings, here is my newest quilt.  The white kona cotton is the only new purchase for this quilt.  See Stitched in Color for information.  There are still nine days until the challenge closes.

String Attack

Some light lavender from my mom for the back.String Attack backA lovely red and white polyester blend for the binding ~~ well, not lovely, but it works.

String Attack folded

String Attack on fence

String Attack side viewA middle drawer in a small cabinet in my kitchen holds scraps and the bottom drawer is full of scrappy log cabin blocks that I have been making for years and years.  I believe this may be my seventh scrappy log cabin quilt.

Scrap Blocks

33 Responses to “String Fever Challenge Quilt Finished”

  1. Life on a Dirt Road Says:

    I just love it. I think the white makes it all work. 🙂

  2. Sheila Says:

    Love the scrappiness – the rolled up photo really shows off your quilting.

  3. myolivebranch Says:

    Way stinkin’ cute!

  4. Rachel-2ndavestudio Says:

    love the setting! its one of my very favorites. that is so cute!

  5. Merilee Says:

    Bits and pieces, I love it!

  6. Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation Says:

    your quilt is a beauty! love it!

    -Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  7. Lisabeth Says:

    I love this! I hope to make one of these someday. Do you organize your scraps or just throw them in a drawer? So far, I’m just throwing them in one drawer, but I wonder if I should separate them by color!!

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      One drawer ~~ well plus a basket, then overflow into other places. It’s just a big jumbled mess of scraps here! I do sort most all other fabrics by colors and/or type.

      • Lisabeth Says:

        Thanks! I’m trying to figure out how to sort it all!! Then there are the pieces left over that aren’t scraps but are still not as big as a fat eighth or quarter! It’s great to see the creativity in using this leftover fabric!

  8. Toni in Oregon Says:

    It’s beautiful! I have always loved scrap quilts and especially log cabin or variation of it. Your quilting adds so much to this. Did you QAYG? Toni

  9. Jenny Says:

    Looks great! I love all that color!

    • runandsewquilts Says:

      Having just finished a “low volume”, I know that I have a lot of colors, but not so many neutrals.

  10. Deb@asimplelifequilts Says:

    Stunning! This is one that I’d love to see in person – it must be amazing. Great quilting too!

  11. Lisa in Port Hope Says:

    Beautiful use of scraps! I like how the white makes the blocks look offset. I popped in from the string link party.

  12. fallingforpieces Says:

    What a fabulous scrap buster! And it’s so pretty.

  13. Suzanne Says:

    I have never made a single log cabin and yet you have made so many! I admire your finish as well as the patient quilting.

  14. audrey Says:

    Love this! Excellent way to use up your scraps.:)

  15. Diane Says:

    By all means, keep making them! This one is stunning, why not keep a good thing going? Thanks for sharing!

  16. lyn lewis Says:

    I am here after hearing about the Stitched in Colour Festival and love this cabin quilt. So striking…………and fun to look at too

  17. Mary Says:

    Beautiful quilt…so happy and colorful! Found you on the String Quilt Festival! Yay!

  18. Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation Says:

    what a beautiful quilt! I love all of the different colors you used, and the random look of the blocks.

  19. Rachel at Stitched in Color Says:

    That was the absolute perfect binding choice! Congrats on such a nice finish. Thanks for joining.

Leave a Reply

