Zig Zag Amish: My Seventh Selvage Quilt

I wanted to do a “Liberated Amish” quilt so I looked through some mid-1980 books.  I came across similar quilts in two books that caught my attention ~~ especially for selvages ~~ not my original intent.   Finishing at 50″ x 60″ with a variety of cotton and batik fabrics, here is a new favorite of mine.  Thank you to anyone who has given me selvages and Karen Griska’s great book and blog.

The quilt photos from the two books that I used as go-bys for the quilt.

The World of Amish Quilts by Rachel and Kenneth Pellman

Quilts from the Indiana Amish A Regional Collection by David Pottinger

8 Responses to “Zig Zag Amish: My Seventh Selvage Quilt”

  1. Merilee Says:

    Probably one of my favorite selvage quilts. Love the greens.

    I was looking back through your blog…how do you decide what will go on the back of a quilt?

  2. Janet Kay Murdock Says:

    I am seriously in love with this quilt…..covet….covet…covet…

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    Be. Still. My. <3.

    I posted a pic of your quilt here:

  4. Karen Griska Says:

    Wow, I love this!! It’s truly wonderful.

  5. June Calender Says:

    What a wonderful idea! And you carry it out very, very well.

  6. Kim Says:

    Ditto what Karen said. I saw your quilt on her blog and just had to come for a closer look :0). Love the way you quilted it too.

    Nicely done! Happy Sewing and thanks for the inspiration,

  7. Dar in MO Says:

    I use selvages too and I love your quilt. Saw it on Karen’s blog and am glad I checked your blog to see the wonderful quilting that you did on it.

  8. dawninca Says:

    Great job! I needed a closer look so popped over fom Karen’s blog. Did you quilt this lovely on a long arm?

Leave a Reply

