Dia de los Muertos QUILT

25 years ago, I woke up to run, but didn’t feel quite right.  I thought I’d wait until my husband got home in the evening and run with him.  It turned out, I was in labor and my daughter was born early evening.

November 2nd is All Souls Day, when we Catholics remember those who have gone before us.  Poor Sarah has received “Dia de los Muertos” skull stuff like table runners, aprons, tablet covers, better fitting tablet cover, etc.  This year, I used a pattern in Dare to be Square by Boo Davis called Basket Case.  The teeth were not centered in the pattern, so I switched them up at the request of my sister.  I also go to the local Latino store and get pan de muerto (body shaped bread) for her special day.

Finishing at 60″ x 72″ in colors that Sarah likes:

Here it is in her home this morning.

Tonight she is having a wine tasting party.  We were each asked to bring a bottle of interesting wine.  I chose two and have a third in a quilted wine tote made with a tutorial by Kate of our Portland Modern Quilt Guild.  Sarah had sent me this a while ago as something she liked.  Kate’s directions were excellent and it worked up quickly.

Leave a Reply

