30 Years of Running

Wow!  30 years ago today, I started running in Orlando, FL. and have kept it up.  After joining the Diablo Road Runners in CA, I met my husband and we ran both with the club and with the Pacific Telesis Corporate Team.  I ran through all three pregnancies right up to the delivery days.  We pushed baby strollers, ran intense hills, competed on the track and each finished one marathon.   These days, I run four miles every other day and bike on the off days.  Eleven years ago, I memorized the Rosary so when I run, I am usually praying.  Each run, I thank God for the ability and drive to be out in His great outdoors keeping fit.

Kevin and I ran several Team Challenge courses.  They were not for the faint of heart.  How about the short shorts?!?  And why are there hand prints on the front of my shirt?

New Year’s Morning 1988, we relayed Sarah 13 miles up Mt. Diablo (3,900′).  I still wear that hat!

…pregnant with my second child.  I can only imagine what men thought as I passed them pregnant AND pushing a baby jogger throughout the race.

Another pregnant race for me while pushing a baby stroller.  Kevin and Mike T. joined me after they finished and retraced their steps to find me.  How kind!

A race in Ft. Bragg on the coast.   Funny, I still use those quilts.

3 Responses to “30 Years of Running”

  1. Merilee Says:

    Congratulations! What memories…and I notice that Sarah was sound asleep!

  2. imperamagna Says:

    Congratulations! What a wonderful thing you’re doing for yourself!!!

  3. Kathy C. Says:

    wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

