Our Three Cowboys

Back in 1968, my mother made pajamas for each of my three brothers.  They are wearing them in this picture.  Yes, those guns look real, and they made a clicking noise.

My mother gave my youngest sister the scraps a few years ago and she cut them into 3.5″ blocks.  That is what I had to work with in creating three quilts for our three imaginative brothers.  Here are some of the blocks.

The three quilts are each about 60″ square.

Below is the label my husband worked an entire day in creating.  My sister Donna has a gun on the left and I am on the right.  The baby sister seems to be missing from the picture and two sisters followed a few years later for a total of eight of us kids.

Today, at our family gathering in Baltimore, two brothers received their quilts.  The other, in Kentucky opened his via Skype and my cell phone here in Oregon.

7 Responses to “Our Three Cowboys”

  1. Merilee Says:

    Another wonderful memory of your Mother…

  2. AnnMarie Says:

    Thank you Merilee. My brothers all recognized the fabric and had stories to tell. The plaid I used is from a bathrobe Mom made and John wore all the time. Stephen put the tie strap in his mouth and John tugged, pulling out a tooth.

  3. Merilee Says:

    This re-use of materials takes you back to the times when quilts were made from special pieces of old clothing. I just love it!

  4. Laura Schoonover Says:

    I love, love, love this story! Stephen was such alittle cutie…..and still is ; ) I can’t wait to see the quilt first hand. Thanks AnnMarie!

  5. runandsewquilts Says:

    Laura, a brand new quilt for your brand new 100-year old home! You should take a picture of all three guys on a couch in front of the same window with their quilts. Donna would pack a rifle if you asked her!

  6. Stan Schoonover Says:

    The quilts were quite a surprise! We have plenty of rifles here.
    All of us believe in the right to bear arms. This is the first blog that i have ever partisipatated in.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

