Red Cross Quilt

All that is left is to stitch down the sleeve and put a label on the quilt.  I saw something that caught my eye at Tallgrass Prairie Studio and did some research on Red Cross quilts.  This is what I came up with and I love it. Womenfolk.com has info. and the pattern I used for the front; however, I used 1.5″ little squares making each cross 3″ when finished.

and the back…

Off to our guild meeting with it tonight!

9 Responses to “Red Cross Quilt”

  1. Kathy C. Says:

    AWESOME!!! 😉

  2. Janet Says:

    Love it!! Really love it!

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    Wonderful! I heart your quilts, AnnMarie!

  4. Donna VW Says:

    Lovely, just lovely!

    Where did you get all those red fabrics??? (teeheehee)

  5. Nini Says:

    It’s beautiful AnnMarie! And I love the back! My dear friend Jean always told me that the back HAD to look as good as the front.

  6. Vicki W Says:

    It’s awesome!

  7. pat hamilton Says:

    I love this quilt and want to make a quick cushion cover for my mother who was in the Red Cross during WWII. What size was the central cross – same as original pattern or did you make that smaller too?
    Thanks,
    pat

  8. runandsewquilts Says:

    I made my quilt smaller. The 9-patch small crosses are 3″ finished, so each square was cut at 1.5″. The sashing strips are .75″ finished and the large cross finishes at 4.25″. On mine, I treated the center red cross the same as each 9-patch with a 3.5″ solid red surrounded by the 1.25 sashing. So, the cross finishes at 11.5″ both across and top to bottom. The entire quilt is 46″ square.

  9. SewCalGal Says:

    Beautiful quilt.
    I thought you might want to know I”m hosting a Year of Red/White Quilt Challenges. Starting next week (2/3 – 2/9) one of the events is a virtual quilt show of red/white quilts made prior to 2014. Post with linky and rules will be released on Monday, but the main page for this event does provide general info at: http://sewcalgal.blogspot.com/p/redwhilte-quilt-challenge.html

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

