I’m a State Fair Ribbon Winner !!!

OK, granted my wins are in rather obscure categories (elementary school quilt, art quilt, “other”), they are still wins.  My son and I went to the opening day yesterday at the Oregon State Fair to see how my entries did and to see Pink Martini perform.  Traffic was quite bad so we only had about 40 minutes before the show.  I didn’t get many pictures or the time to look around, but the quilts were over the top.  Only one or two were mediocre ~~ the rest were outstanding.  The overall quality was truly incredible.  The fair workers did an amazing  job of hanging everything in a pleasing manner.  There were display cases filled with beautiful textiles, but I didn’t get a picture.  Below is the 6th grade quilt that I pieced, quilted and bound a year ago.

Under the Sea

The 2nd grade School Auction quilt that I quilted last spring.

Second Grade

My “New Year’s Quilt” ~~ www.selvageblog@blogspot.com  Red Zinger.

Zinger

My Westside Quilter’s Guild “Spring Challenge” titled “Spring in the Northwest” took a second.  Darn!  First place won a $100 Stitching Post gift certificate. 

Spring

My little Fons and Porter 25th Anniversary Challenge.  The rules were to use 25 3″ squares and work with another.  My friend and I, along with our mom’s did this ~~ so we made four quilts in all.  They are mostly identical.

Fons n Porter

And lastly, my “A Day at the Fair:  Cotton Candy, Fries and Overalls”.  This pattern can be found at www.quiltvile.blogspot.com .

Fair Quilt

5 Responses to “I’m a State Fair Ribbon Winner !!!”

  1. Janet Says:

    First off, congratulations!!! Looks like you did very well!

    And second…you think “I” should enter next year. I think not lol!!!!

  2. runandsewquilts Says:

    Janet, your ideas and quilting are so wonderful! You should enter and WIN !!!!

  3. myolivebranch Says:

    those are are wonderful! my favorite is the 2nd one….the funky flowers. love it.

  4. runandsewquilts Says:

    Thanks! The second graders picked out the fabric from piles, took them home and cut them out. The piecer did a great job!

  5. Rachel Says:

    Congrats on wins! i “stole” your photo and blogged about it … thanks
    hope its okay.. .

    Love them all!

Leave a Reply

