Button Blanket

I have been asked to present a 50 minute class on “native american button blankets” which until last week, I knew almost nothing about.  The class is this Saturday.  To experience the topic more, I decided to make one, so I purchased 100% wool and went to work.  My son has always loved owls.  They symbolize wisdom and deceased spirits.  He was named after a dead uncle and a dead dog so owls are perfect.  My husband drew up the design and we had it enlarged at a blueprint shop.  It is all hand stitched down and the buttons are being sewn on any chance I have.  The piece measures about 60″ square.  The story goes that button blankets are never finished ~~ you keep adding to them.

Last night, one boy scout told me that to wear it in a ceremony for Order of the Arrow, it needs a tunic.  Now I know why there was a pattern for a tunic in the package.  …two more yards of black wool and more work.

Leave a Reply

